Waste management in South Carelia

Etelä-Karjalan Jätehuolto Oy

Etelä-Karjalan Jätehuolto Oy is a waste company that is jointly owned by nine municipalities in the South Karelia region: Imatra, Lappeenranta, Lemi, Luumäki, Parikkala, Rautjärvi, Ruokolahti, Savitaipale, and Taipalsaari. The company manages and develops the waste management services provided by its owner municipalities.

Etelä-Karjalan Jätehuolto Oy is responsible for the transportation, reception, and further processing of dry and biowaste, and for recoverable waste management, toxic waste reception, customer service, invoicing, distribution of information, and advisory services relating to waste management. The company also offers waste reception services for companies.

Etelä-Karjalan Jätehuolto Oy

Kukkuroinmäen käsittelykeskus
Reception of waste:
Opening hours Mon.-Fri. 7am-8pm
tel. 010 841 1813

Customer service
Opening hours Mon.-Fri 8am-5pm
tel. 010 841 1818
Online services

Waste management authority
Virastokatu 2, 55100 Imatra
tel. 020 617 4664, 020 617 4366
(service is provided in Finnsh and English)

The waste management authority

The waste management authority accepts the waste management regulations and waste management fees, processes exception applications submitted by properties on waste management, and makes decisions on waste management fees. All municipalities in South Karelia have a joint waste management authority, which is based in Imatra. 

The supervisory bodies include environmental protection authorities and the Centre for Economic Development, Transport and the Environment (ELY centre). The supervisory authorities monitor compliance with the Waste Act and waste management regulations, and issue orders to correct violations where required.